Le CMI 2018-07-19T15:00:33+00:00

The Collège Marie-de-l’incarnation in Trois-Rivières; host of the 45th edition of the OÉ3R

 

The Organizing Committee is pleased to announce that the OÉ3R is moving to a new tournament venue! After nearly 20 years at the Urbania Hotel, the tournament is ready to move up a gear and offer its loyal participants much more attractive playing and staying conditions.

Since the major change of helm undertaken in 2016 by the organizing committee that led to a change of name, image, formula and management style, the OÉ3R has been looking for a new tournament venue in order to offer improved playing conditions, notably with a single game room for all sections and more efficient lighting, while offering participants close accommodation – the “no need for my car” philosophy had to apply in the choice of the new game site as well.

Thus the Trois-Rivières Chess Club approached the Collège Marie-de-l’Incarnation de Trois-Rivières (CMI), to move the activities of the Club to this location and to lay the foundations of a collaboration for the organization of the OÉ3R. From the onset, the CMI has shown a keen interest in the Club’s activities and in the prospect of hosting this important tournament.

The CMI sees in this association, the opportunity to introduce teachers and students to the many benefits of learning chess, while participating in the success of a national event that has brought together for 45 years now, grand masters, masters, experts, seasoned players and beginners alike in one of the most important chess events in Canada.

Founded in 1697, the Collège Marie-de-l’Incarnation is a private and mixed elementary and secondary school located in the heart of the historic district of Trois-Rivières. The school has just over 750 students. It is the oldest school institution in Trois-Rivières.

The CMI will provide participants with a huge room surrounded by a mezzanine where the tournament will be held, and an adjacent analysis room with numerous tables, chairs, vending machines and, of course, a wi-fi connection. The CMI will also provide players with nearly 60 rooms (in the boarding school wing) that can be booked onthe nights of Friday 15 and Saturday 16 for as little as $40/night. More details will follow on how to book your room at the college. Also note that in order to offer a higher standard of accommodation, the Hôtel Gouverneurs de Trois-Rivières is only 150m away from the tournament site and it will be possible to leave your car in the college parking lot.

The new tournament venue is located in the heart of the historic Trois-Rivières district and offers a wide variety of restaurants and activities within a 1km radius.
The entire organizing committee team is convinced that this change will be greatly appreciated and will mark another defining moment in the growth of our event.

We look forward to seeing you there!

Gilbert Mercure
Organizing Committee Director

[email protected]

819.415.0770

Le CMI 2018-07-19T14:40:21+00:00

Le Collège Marie-de-l’incarnation de Trois-Rivières; hôte de la 45e édition de l’OÉ3R

 

Le comité organisateur est heureux d’annoncer que l’OÉ3R change d’adresse! Après près de 20 ans à l’hôtel l’Urbania, le tournoi est prêt à passer à une vitesse supérieure et à offrir à ses fidèles participants des conditions de jeux et de séjour nettement plus attrayantes.

Depuis l’important coup de barre entrepris en 2016 par le comité organisateur qui a conduit à un changement de nom, d’image, de formule et de style de gestion, l’OÉ3R était à la recherche d’un nouveau lieu de tournoi dans le but de proposer de meilleures conditions de jeux, notamment avec une salle de jeu unique pour toutes les sections et un éclairage plus efficace, tout en offrant aux participants une proximité d’hébergement — la philosophie du « pas besoin de ma voiture » devait également s’appliquer au nouveau site de jeu.

C’est ainsi que le Club d’échecs de Trois-Rivières a approché le Collège Marie-de-l’Incarnation de Trois-Rivières (CMI), pour déménager les activités du Club à cet endroit et pour jeter les bases d’une collaboration pour la tenue de l’OÉ3R. Le CMI a montré un intérêt certain dans les activités du Club et dans la perspective d’être l’hôte de cet important tournoi.

Le CMI voit dans cette association, l’occasion d’initier enseignants et élèves aux nombreux bénéfices de l’apprentissage des échecs, tout en participant au succès d’un événement d’envergure nationale qui rassemble depuis 45 ans, grands maîtres, maîtres, experts, joueurs aguerris et débutants dans un des plus importants rendez-vous échiquéens au Canada.

Fondé en 1697, le Collège Marie-de-l’Incarnation de Trois-Rivières est une école primaire et secondaire privée et mixte située au cœur de l’arrondissement historique de Trois-Rivières. L’établissement accueille un peu plus de 750 élèves. Elle est la plus ancienne institution scolaire trifluvienne.

Le CMI mettra à la disposition des participants outre une immense salle avec mezzanine où se tiendra le tournoi, et une salle d’analyse adjacente avec de nombreuses tables, des fauteuils, des distributrices et bien sûr, le wi-fi. Le CMI mettra également à la disposition des joueurs près de 60 chambrettes (dans l’aile du pensionnat) pouvant être réservées les vendredi et samedi soirs pour aussi peu que 40 $/nuit. Plus de détails suivront sur la façon de réserver votre chambre au collège. Notez également que dans le but d’offrir un standard d’hébergement plus élevé, l’Auberge des Gouverneurs de Trois-Rivières se trouve à peine à 150m du site de tournoi et qu’il sera possible de laisser votre voiture dans le stationnement du collège.

Le nouveau lieu de tournoi se trouve au cœur du quartier historique de Trois-Rivières et propose une grande variété de restaurants et d’activités dans un rayon de 1km.
Toute l’équipe du comité organisateur est convaincue que ce changement sera grandement apprécié et qu’il marquera un autre moment déterminant dans la croissance de notre événement.

Nous vous y attendons!

Gilbert Mercure
Directeur du comité organisateur

[email protected]

819.415.0770